Reading in a Romance Wonderland…

17 Nov

The best part about fiction, in any medium, is the escape it provides from real life—whether it’s through a television show, a movie, or a book. I’m not the biggest television watcher and I’m far from being a movie buff, but I do love me some books. There’s just something so wonderfully interactive about them. You take what the author provides, but then the rest is up to you. The characters are described, maybe in great detail, maybe not…but how do they really look? It’s pretty much a guarantee that the way you “see” them won’t be the way the author “sees” them. When I read a book, I’m directing a movie. I’ve always seen it that way; I’ve always thought that connection came naturally. Strange…or not?

When I write a story, I still “see” it as I go along. I can’t help but think, “If this were a movie, what would the next scene be? Would it flow with the one before or would it be jarring?” Sometimes, I may want the transition to be jarring. It’s all about effect. Well, effect while still making sense! It’s a blast coming up with a world you hope readers can escape to, if only for a limited time. Most of my stories take place in a connected world of sorts…a shared universe, if you will. What exists in one (e.g. stores, restaurants, offices, agencies) exists in others is basically what I’m sayin’. Why? My mind just works that way I suppose.

One of my favorite things about creating a world in which readers can escape is bringing the characters to life. They’re real enough in my head, but there’s something really cool about putting them on paper—or, um, on the computer screen anyway. Since there seems to be an unwritten rule out there somewhere that says I’m not allowed to outline, like, ever, the characters and the things they do come as a nice surprise to me. In that way, writing and reading provide me with the same exhilaration of the unknown. What’s going to happen next? When reading, I don’t know. When writing… Hell, I still don’t know. There’s beauty in that there symmetry if you ask me. Now, on to what is probably my favorite thing about reading and writing fiction: Dialogue. I’m crazy in love with the stuff. I’m an insanely auditory person so the words the characters speak have to feel right; they have to sound right in my head. And I definitely hear them in my head. Always and without fail. Weird…or not?

Romance is an escape. Real life romance, fictional romance… It’s a thing of wonder, of magic. I try to do my part in providing a little bit on the fictional end. The world needs more love! And what’s cooler than love you read about, but can still see play out in your head? When I write, I’m providing a lot of what my “movie” needs. When you read, you’re doing the rest. You’re directing, you’re casting, you’re doing a bang up job as cinematographer—you’re just awesome basically. My “movies” would never be truly complete without readers.

Comment on this blog and others for a chance at some amazing prizes–a $100 Amazon or B&N gift certificate and two $50 ones! You can find the other participating authors on the list below.

Have a happy blog hop, y’all, and good luck!

1. Sharon Clare 2. K.M. Jackson
3. Lynn Cahoon 4. Tessa Berkley
5. Black Creek Burning 6. Erin Richards
7. Shay Lacy 8. M. J. Schiller
9. Terri Herman-Ponce 10. Sylvie Fox
11. Ashlyn Mathews 12. NLSScribe/Scribbles
13. Carol Ritten Smith 14. Beth Yarnall
15. Peggy Bird 16. Rowena May O’Sullivan
17. Suzi Love 18. nora snowdon
19. Tara Mills Romance 20. Vristen Pierce
21. Embrace the Shadows 22. Alicia Dean
23. Heather Thurmeier 24. Rena’s Ramblings
25. Dare to Read 26. Denyse Cohen
27. Pam B. Morris Blog 28. Becky Lower Author
29. Nikkie Locke 30. Nicole Flockton
31. Rionna Morgan 32. Elizabeth Boyce
33. Amanda L. V. Shalaby 34. Meline Nadeau
35. Kate Fellowes 36. Lola Karns
37. D’Ann Lindun 38. Jerri Drennen
39. Kristina Knight Romance Author 40. Morgan O’Neill
41. Shelley Wall Blog 42. Holley Trent
43. Karen Sue Burns 44. Patti Shenberger
45. Tamara Gill

18 Responses to “Reading in a Romance Wonderland…”

  1. Kim Brass Brooks November 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    I love when the characters come to life on the pages of a book…The more I can laugh and cry or even get angry with them the better I feel my time was spent reading the book.

    • vristenpierce November 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Great comment, Kim–I agree! Good luck to you!

  2. Laurie Goudge November 17, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    I love when the characters come to life on the pages of a book…it makes for a more enjoyable read!

  3. donnablhmistress November 17, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I love your response, never thought of it as you put it, but we do picture everything in our heads. One reason I tend to love the book version more than the movies it very seldom matches to what I picture in my head.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

    • vristenpierce November 19, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

      Yes! I’m so glad my weird movie/book analogy makes sense to someone out there, lol! Thanks for commenting and good luck!

  4. April Holgate (@grapeaprilrain) November 17, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I love blog hopping because it adds new books to my to read list! The library is my fav escape location! LOL!

    grapeapril75(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. ki pha November 18, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    I love it when I can see the characters and know the feelings of what they’re feeling in a book. Most definitely when they give me the shivers of a good sign that I’m feeling the same outcome of anticipation as the characters are.
    Thanks for the hop!!

    kp_kazamei(at)yahoo(dot)com

  6. Eva (@booksconsidered) November 18, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    It makes it easier to get into the story and makes the book a true escape when the characters really come to life!

    booksconsidered[at]gmail[dot]com

  7. tanna4abak November 18, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    I am a sucker for the Happily Ever After which is why I like the romance books. I especially like the paranormal or futuristic romance books with hot sexy alpha heroes and kick-ass heroines. They can be futuristic, or go back in time, or be contemporary or even on another planet as long as they get me hooked from the very first few chapters. Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  8. mariannetheresa1 November 19, 2012 at 2:51 am #

    I good book will help you imagine you are in another time/world/place, A great story can take you there! Thanks for the opportunity to add a new author to my TBR pile

  9. belindaegreen November 19, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Vristen,

    You said, ….”Romance is an escape. Real life romance, fictional romance… It’s a thing of wonder, of magic.”…. You and I are on the same page! Woot!! When I am reading a romance I want to be immersed in the book. In my mind’s eye I want to see the people, surroundings, and emotions. I know I’m engaged when I can’t put the book down until I’m done. The story has to have all the elements of a good story to hook me. If not, I feel cheated.

    Thanks for the opportunity to meet you and know more about your work. I like what I see. I will be following you in the future.

    Belinda G
    belgre AT comcast DOT net

    • vristenpierce November 19, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

      Hi, Belinda! Woot, woot–I love it when I’m on the same page as someone, lol! Thanks so much for stopping by and best of luck to you!

  10. Lisa Fisher Walker November 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    When I read a book with a great plot and well developed characters, I get swept away and sometimes lose track of time.
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  11. shaylacy November 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    Your post got me singing that song, “What the world needs now is love, sweet love.” I’m checking out the Ladies in Red, not the contest.

  12. Rionna Morgan November 20, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Yay!! Just stopping by on my way around the hop! This is so much fun!

    Rionna

  13. caroleannvance November 20, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Great to meet you through the Crimson Blog Hop! I like the way you picture your work as a movie so you can better ‘see’ how all should be

  14. Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) November 20, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    I love to read to escape. It gives me the chance to live dangerously through the characters. I get to have a happy ending.
    mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  15. Brittany Rose Meza November 20, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Thanks for participating in the blog hop!

    bme722 at gmail dot com

Comments are closed.

