The Alpha Male (Blog Hop Finished)

19 Oct

ETA:

Congratulations to commenter liese2, the winner of my gift card giveaway!

What makes the alpha man so irresistible to so many romance writers and readers? For me, it’s the sheer confidence that borders on cockiness. He may be wealthy or he can be a total blue-collar babe, but he always exudes power. No one’s getting the best of this man–until  a certain lady comes along to bring him to his knees, of course. And, really, that’s the best part anyway, isn’t it? Watching a big, strong man crumble like a cookie when faced with the power of love is satisfying. It shows that, more than anything else, love holds the real power. I believe there are a lot of different types out there, almost a sliding scale of alpha-ness, if you will. My characters have been across the board, but the men tend to be the sexy, dynamic, assertive, and charming.

In my book, The Scheme of Things, the hero, Eric, is an alpha, but not overbearing about it. I’d almost say he could have been a beta, he’s so nonchalant and laid-back, but he’s a smart ass and has a slightly arrogant part of his personality that refused to go away. Plus, the man doesn’t have a shy, unassuming bone in his body. Alpha, it is. In my novella, Awful Good Girl, the hero, Elijah, almost straddles the line between alpha and beta, but he leans toward the alpha side just a bit. He just tries to keep the more intense parts of his personality tempered a bit for the sake of the heroine. He doesn’t want to scare her off when she’s already clearly hesitant to make any type of commitments, after all. But he wants her and won’t stop until he has his way.

In my upcoming book, Dropping the Ball, out December 17th from Crimson Romance, my hero, Dillon, absolutely refused to be an alpha. Flat out–he wouldn’t even hear of it. He’s a total beta; he’s my first and, as of yet, only. Say it with me: Awww. So, ah, yeah…let’s just skip right over Dillon until a later post. He really is a sweetheart, though! In the book I’m working on right now–a steamy, contemporary Valentine’s Day tale–the hero, Chance is a total alpha male for sure. Super wealthy, slightly arrogant, disgustingly charming, and yummy as hell, Chance is a playboy who’s not into the relationship thing. I love the guy, which is why I’m having a blast making him fall in love. It’s always fun when the alpha man succumbs to the inevitable. And Chance…oh, Chance…he’s really in for it. After all, he’s destined to end up with none other than an alpha woman who calls him on his shit and takes none from anyone.

What makes an alpha man hit or miss for you? The power? The confidence? The intensity? Or is it just the raw, animalistic sexuality that seems to ooze out of every pore on his chiseled, amazing body?

Comment on this post for a chance to win these amazing grand prizes:

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $130 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: The following Swag Pack!

Make sure to include your email address in your comment in order to enter for the grand prizes! Everything but the swag prize is open to international entrants. Commenting also enters you for a chance to win a $10 gift card from yours truly.

Be sure to check out the other Alpha Male posts that are listed here and comment on the blog posts for your opportunity to win even more awesome prizes!

Have a happy blog hop, y’all!

Find more blogs to visit at:

Carrie Ann’s Blog Hops

50 Responses to “The Alpha Male (Blog Hop Finished)”

  1. Rose McHallen October 19, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Love alpha males for their attitude and silent but strong personality. They give the heroine a feeling of being protected, controlled, dominated and more importantly wanted and loved.

    I don’t have one favorite alpha (there are simply too many)

    rosemchallen@gmail.com

  2. sharonstogner October 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    The animalistic smexy side of shifters is what attracts me to those alphas. Barrons is my gold standard and Optimus Prime 😉 sstognet1 at gmail dot com

  3. Shannon (@Momlovesl) October 19, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I think what make him a hit is he is powerful and confident but not too egotistical that he becomes unlikable

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  4. Katie Dalton October 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    I love a tall male with a body built like a tank and a stare that could make my cloths fly off my body! Yay!

    flockparty (at) hotmail (dot) com

  5. kesummer October 19, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    I like the confidence, dominance, possessiveness, and protectiveness of alphas.

    kesummer69(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. vristenpierce October 19, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    kesummer – Dominance, protectiveness and possessiveness can be super sexy! Definitely hawt alpha traits, those.

    Katie – Yum, a man like that definitely sounds like an alpha!

    Shannon – I totally agree!

    Sharon – I’m unfamiliar with shifters, but now I’m a little intrigued!

    Rose – Great explanation; thank you! I love finding out why others love alphas!

    Awesome comments, ladies–thank you!

  7. escape2books October 19, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I love when the alpha male is prossessive and filled to the brim with pure confidence. My favorite alpha males know when to let his “woman” stand up for herself and sees her for the strong woman she is, and when to help her.

    I hate it when an alpha male tries to put her into the weak clinging vine box.

    On vain note… I like any body type lean, bulky, chiseled. For me, it’s about the personality of the guy. He really has to own his look and be confident about it.

    I also like when he acts flirty and cocky; really hiding the deep feelings he has. And when he finally opens his heart and soul to her. . . *sigh*
    escape2books(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. vristenpierce October 19, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Rawr! Great comment, escape2books!

  9. Fiery Na (@FieryNa) October 20, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    I really like the power, confidence and protectiveness that they exude.
    Cambonified(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. vristenpierce October 20, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Fiery Na – I totally agree!

  11. yganoe October 20, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    I love an alpha that is possessive yet tender.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  12. Rachel McFaith (@racail333) October 20, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    I love Alphas, because I need someone as confident and dominant as me to be an equal in our relationship – I hate the feeling as if partner is less powerful than me and cannot make it without me.

    My favourite Alpha male is Gabriel from Annette Curtis Klause’s Blood and Chocolate, because he’s strong, confident and willing to fight for what he wants.

    Thanks for doing this!

    Rachel (oceanrebel333 [at] gmail [dot] com)

  13. Jean Patton October 20, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    I like the strong, confident alpha who will do anything for the one he loves.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  14. Phaedra Seabolt October 20, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    If you notice in the comments…we all love alphas. Alpha males, to me, are compassionate, loyal, honest, determined, strong, and have something in their past that made them into the men they are today. phaedracamille@gmail.com

  15. donnablhmistress October 20, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    I love their fiercely protectiveness, sarcasm , stubborn streak and hidden heart of gold.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. vristenpierce October 20, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Great comments, ladies! And you’re welcome, Rachel–thanks for commenting!

  17. A (@DMR_8888) October 20, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I like the idea of a sliding scale of alphaness 🙂

    Thanks for participating in the hop!

    dmr8888 at yahoo dot com

  18. Deb PelletierCouture October 21, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    The SEX, do I need to say more. 😉
    r.d1@myfairpoint.net

  19. vristenpierce October 21, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    Ha, Deb, you needn’t say more! The sex with an alpha male equals verrry hot stuff, lol.

    A — You’re welcome and thanks for commenting! I’m glad someone likes my wacky idea of a sliding scale. 😀

  20. Tammy Thompson-Turner October 21, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Why I love Alpha Males is no real surprise! The perfect Alpha Male for me could be a Vampire, a Scottish Laird, an English Rogue/Gentleman, a Werewolf or Shape-shifter, or a Knight. He’s the rogue who thinks he can’t be reformed into a gentleman. He’s the rough and scarred Scottish laird that has a heart of gold. He’s the werewolf or shape-shifter that needs to heal an aching heart because it took him years to find his true mate. He’s the vampire who has waited decades for that special someone’s blood to sing to him and wake him up. And he’s the knight who can defeat the enemy with a quick swing of his sword, but can’t see the love in front of his face. My Alpha Male has eyes that can see into your soul and are as blue as the sea, or as black as a storm. He’s tall and brooding. His heart can enfold you into its grasp and make you fall in love when he gives it to you freely and completely. He is protective and passionate. In the end he is the one that makes your heart jump and butterflies fly in your stomach, and still kiss you until your legs melt!

    Angelheart618@gmail.com

  21. Veronika (@twveronika) October 21, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Thank you for the wonderful post and the giveaway! Alpha Males are my absolute favorites! They’re strong, confident, protective, sometimes a bit bossy, and of cource sexy!

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  22. vristenpierce October 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Whew–awesome comment, Tammy!

    Veronika–you’re so welcome and thanks for taking time to comment and enter!

  23. J Lenni Dorner (@JLenniDorner) October 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    I love an alpha who has no shy bones! 😉
    Great post.
    j.lennidorner AT facebook DOT com

  24. Marlena Fein October 21, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Like your alpha, Eric, I like the unassuming arrogance and the sense of smart ass humor is an ABSOLUTE must. Great post and had to add another to my ever growing TBR list. Thanks for being a part of the blog hop.
    Best Wishes,
    Marlena
    charmedpoms(at)yahoo(dot)com

  25. vristenpierce October 21, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    J–Ha, I love a man who lacks a “shy bone” myself! 😀

    Marlena–You’re so welcome; I’m having fun being a part of my very first blog hop! Yeah, my Eric has quite the dry wit, lol. I think (hope) you’d like him!

  26. Lynne Parker October 21, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Thanks for the hop! They must be intelligent as well as protective and all the other attributes.

  27. liese2 October 21, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I love the confidence and protective nature of an alpha!
    sqwalker2@gmail.com

  28. phaxx027 October 21, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    Alpha males are awesome! Betas are too so got to love them ALL!
    They have be dark and mysterious, protective, humorous, loving, strong, and just be themselves.

    Thanks for the giveaway and being apart of the Blog Hop!
    kp_kazamei(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) October 21, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    I love my alpha man to be Dominant yet have a sense of humor. He is loyal, protective, and isn’t afraid to enjoy the small things in life.
    mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  30. Tamara Hoffa October 21, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Love the alphas
    sugerlady@aol.com

  31. Joy F (@harvester5905) October 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    I love alpha males and how strong, loyal and protective they are.

  32. Sharon Clare October 21, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    I like a little cockiness in an alpha male too. Makes him interesting.
    sclare(at)sharonclare(dot)com

  33. belindaegreen October 21, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Hi Vristen,

    Doing the Alpha Male blog hop! I‘m excited to be a part of this hop! A perfect opportunity to meet new authors! It’s always fun trying to visit as many sites as possible!

    I love alpha heroes who are take charge men! I’m not talking about obnoxious bullies! They are loyal, loving, caring and protective. They have sexy looks, brains, money and a commanding presence that draws people. When they find their mates and fall in love they will move heaven and earth to stake their claim. This is exciting to watch even when they are not sure why they have to have or be with this particular person. An awesome love dance! It’s definitely addicting to read.

    Your mention of Chance in your upcoming Valentine book struck a note with me especially when paired with a strong alpha woman. I can see the dance now… makes for wonderful sparks! I’m going to follow you so I’ll know when it’s release.

    Thanks for the opportunity to meet you, explore your site and win some great prizes.

    Belinda G

    belgre@comcast.net

  34. jyl22075 October 21, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    I have to say, I like the sound of your beta hero! I enjoy reading about all kinds of heroes and he sounds interesting. I’m following on twitter so hopefully you’ll give a little twitter reminder when it comes out. 🙂

    Now, as for alphas, they are a hit for me if they are strong, confident, and protective. They are more of a miss if they are too over-bearing or if they head from alpha territory into jerk territory.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Jyl22075 at gmail.com

  35. MostlyMisha October 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    I like my alphas confident, intelligent and extremely protective of what they consider theirs. It’s also important to me that he be loyal and true for those he cares about~ while having the ability to be extremely dangerous toward everyone else.

    MostlyMisha[at]gmail[dot]com

  36. Nat Reading Romances October 21, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    Thanks for the extra giveaway!
    readingromances.contactATgmailDOTcom

  37. laceyblossom (@laceyblossom) October 21, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    Definitely a fan of the raw sexuality! And I love their protectiveness and possessiveness 🙂
    Lacey
    laceyblossom1(at)gmail(dot)com

  38. donnas1 October 21, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Great hop!

    Thanks for the chance!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  39. vristenpierce October 22, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    jyl22075 — My beta hero will be in my book that releases in December! I’ll definitely tweet about it; thanks so much for following me there!

    Belinda — I’m only a few chapters away from being done with my V-Day tale so I hope to have news for you soon! Thanks for following the blog!

    And thanks so much to all who have commented; you all are the reason these hops are such a blast!

  40. Cassandra Hicks October 22, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    I love how brave, strong, possessive, protective, and capable they are 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  41. Christina Arterburn Livingston October 22, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I love Alpha Males with a hidden soft side, that are strong, fiercely protective, take-charge, and sexy with a little dark n’ dangerous thrown in! I have so many favs, it is hard to pick just one! mygirls01@yahoo.com

  42. Savannah Miller October 22, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    I love that alpha males are strong and dependable 🙂 And they always seem to be very protective of the women in their life
    savannahm1987@gmail.com

  43. latishajean October 22, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    I love Alpha males who are strong and protecitve!
    What a great blog hop Alpha males are my favorite!
    One of my favorite Alpha males is Decebal from The Grey Wolves Series by Quinn Loftis!
    Thank you for the great giveaway!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net

  44. mabledsoe October 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    So many great posts on what makes up an alpha male. I like the strength and compassion that they show.

    Michelle Bledsoe
    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  45. Stephanie Huff (@MrsHuff6510) October 22, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    I love my alpha males to be strong, sexy, and protective of those they love!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    snhoveln (at) gmail (dot) com

  46. Molly (@reviewsbymolly) October 22, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    Alpha males are the best….strong, independent, fiercely protective, but on the inside they are nothing but a big ol’ teddy bear! I love the way their mouths talk filthy, but their eyes portray their sensitive sweet. They can be rough and tough in the bedroom, but still have the gentle caress of an attentive and protective lover. It’s all in the heart…..alpha males are the best!

    Jack Gordon from Liz Crowe’s REALTOR series rocks!

    Thanks for participating in the hop!

    molly at reviewsbymolly dot com

  47. kaylynd October 22, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    I like an alpha who is brave, loyal and protective. I also like a sense of humor. Thanks for the giveaway.
    kaylyndavis1986@yahoo.com

  48. Shadow Kohler October 22, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    I love alpha heros. So hot! 🙂 I love how dominant, possessive, loyal and protective they are. Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway! This is so much fun!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  49. Pennykatw (@Pennykatw) October 22, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    The raw sexuality is definitely good, but I also love how protective alpha males are!

    pennykathleen28(at)gmail(dot)com

  50. vristenpierce October 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    A huge thanks to all who have participated in my very first hop; y’all made this a blast!

Comments are closed.

