The Scheme of Things

27 Sep

The worst plans can lead to the best things…

The Scheme of Things is a story that’s near and dear to my heart. The second novel I’d ever written, it was a total departure from my first and, as of yet, still unfinished, book. I’m a huge romantic suspense fan. In fact, it’s the only kind of romance I read for so many years, I couldn’t even tell you. So, naturally, when I started writing, I wrote what I felt I knew “best”: Good ol’ rom-sus. It was…painful. As a total pantser who can’t outline for crap, there’s a lot I still need to do to that story to make it anywhere near as good as it can be. And because I’m not that great at giving up on things that are important to me, there’s a lot that I will do to that story. Someday. (<— Oh, and I’m a horrible, horrible procrastinator, I must admit.) I guess I hatched a plan, or a “scheme”, if you will, of my own. After temporarily trunking that precious, precious, messy little rom-sus, I decided to try my hand at something I really didn’t know much about anymore–straight up, contemporary romance…no sub-genres, no chaser. At first, it was hard to wrap my mind around creating a plot that didn’t involve crazed killers, death, and destruction, but I’m so very glad I did. Filled with plenty of light-hearted, humorous moments, it’s a total departure from that romantic suspense manuscript of mine. The Scheme of Things releases from Crimson Romance on Oct. 15th!

2 Responses to “The Scheme of Things”

  1. brendaashworthbarry September 30, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    So does she pick him? Very good and now I have to see what happenns. Great six. 🙂

  2. vristenpierce September 30, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    In The Scheme of Things? Or Taking Candy? I haven’t done my six sentences for The Scheme of Things yet, but I will soon! Thanks so much for reading, Brenda!

Leave a Reply

